2019 UMP Awards announce nominees


Uganda – The nominees for the Urban Music People (UMP) Awards were announced today ahead of the awards ceremony at Crossroads Hotel in Blantyre, Malawi on 14 December.

Hilco, Kim of diamonds, Sangie, Temwa and Tuno are competing in the Female Artist of the Year category while Eli Njuchi, Gwamba, Kell Kay, Seven O More and Wikise are competing for the Male Artist of the Year award.

“The announcements were well received. We are happy with the participation of the urban music and fashion public and stakeholders during the process of coming up with the nominees,” UMP director Ken Zizwa said. “We expect the same as we go into the final round of voting.”

Below is the full list of nominees:

Female Artist of the Year

  • Hilco
  • Kim of diamonds
  • Sangie
  • Temwa
  • Tuno

Best Duo/Group

  • Archaida Universe
  • Brainlock Fam
  • Mabilinganya Empire
  • Njuchi Zitatu
  • XVI

Male Artist of the Year

  • Eli Njuchi
  • Gwamba
  • Kell Kay
  • Seven O More
  • Wikise

Song of the Year

  • ‘Chikamuphulikire’ – Wikise
  • ‘Go’ – Kell Kay
  • ‘Mpaka Kale’ – Kell kay
  • ‘Mtengamoyo’ – Saint
  • ‘Ng’wing’wi’ – Patience Namadingo

Producer of the Year

  • DJ Brown
  • DJ Sley
  • Henwood
  • Martin Angelz
  • Zephy

Music Video of the Year

  • ‘Chikamphulikire’ – Wikise
  • ‘Go’ – Kell Kay
  • ‘My Bag’ – Toast
  • ‘Ndagoma’ – Fredokiss ft Bucci & AK
  • ‘Ng’wing’wi’ – Patience Namadingo

Most Fashionable Female Celebrity

  • Hazel Mak
  • Nthanda Manduwi
  • Priscilla Kayira
  • Temwa

Best New Fashion Designer

  • Dickson Keith Kanyenda
  • House of Daniella
  • Legacy Fashions
  • Scorpie Clothing

Most Fashionable Male Celebrity

  • Bucci
  • Gwamba
  • Tay Grin
  • Toast

Female Model of the Year

  • Christina Mabvuto
  • Claire Thindwa
  • Rebecca Thindwa
  • Sinikiwe Mvula

Fashion Designer of the Year

  • Christian Entwan
  • Jay Designs
  • Mis Pearls
  • Xandria

Male Model of the Year

  • Dickson Ziba
  • Keitumile Kawilima
  • Miracle Suya
  • Paul Tembo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here