Afropunk announces 2019 Battle of the Bands winners


South Africa – The winners for the 2019 Afropunk Battle of the Bands competition were announced at the weekend ahead of the festival on Constitutional Hill in Johannesburg, South Africa, on 30 and 31 December.

The winners, Muney and Shameless Band, will share the stage with such artists as Solange Knowles (US), Miguel (US) and NAO (UK). Other artists include Nigerian singer Burna Boy and southern African acts Sjava, Urban Village, Busiswa, Distruction Boyz, Sho Madjozi, Zoë Modiga, Morena Leraba, Darkie Fiction, TCIYF, Umlilo, DBN Gogo, Gina Jeanz, Lelowhatsgood and Fif Laaa.

The winning acts, which triumphed against Raspy and Yanga Yaya, will also receive an Africori distribution deal as well as the opportunity to meet London’s 2019 Battle of the Bands winners. The competition traditionally selects one band as a winner, but this year the orgnisers made a surprise as chose two acts.

“Every year, we get to witness amazing talent from young artists who are diverse and not afraid to express themselves freely in whatever form they feel like,” Afropunk co-founder Matthew Morgan said. “The Battle of the Bands platform has been a success in South Africa because of the multi-cultural landscape which inspires raw and untamed talent which is what we witnessed tonight. Congratulations to all the finalists and we’re really excited to see their rise to stardom.”

Africori head of operations Adam Tiran described this year’s competition as “an eclectic melting pot of daring talent with the potential to shape the country’s music landscape.”

Previous winners of the Battle of the Bands competition include Red Robyn, Ikati Esengxoweni and Stiff Pap.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here